Read the Fathers

Join a world-wide community in reading the church fathers daily.

We have a December calendar!

It is my pleasure to let you know that we have a December calendar! It does not have links for the daily readings; hopefully in 2020 I will roll that feature out. For now, you can make it to the feast of Pope St Sylvester (December 31; he was pope during the Council of Nicaea) with  a more basic model. Here are the links, also updated on the homepage:

Google Calendar

iCalendar format

Dec. 1, 2019 Sunday First Sunday of Advent Clement of Rome 1 Clement ch. 1–20 ANF 1:5–10
Dec. 2, 2019 Monday Clement of Rome 1 Clement ch. 21–39 ANF 1:10–15
Dec. 3, 2019 Tuesday Clement of Rome 1 Clement ch. 40–59 ANF 1:16–21
Dec. 4, 2019 Wednesday Epistle to Diognetus ANF 1:25–30
Dec. 5, 2019 Thursday Polycarp Epistle to the Philippians ANF 1:33–36
Dec. 6, 2019 Friday Martyrdom of Polycarp ANF 1:39–44
Dec. 7, 2019 Saturday Ignatius of Antioch Epistle to the Ephesians ANF 1:49–58
Dec. 8, 2019 Sunday Second Sunday of Advent Ignatius of Antioch Epistle to the Magnesians ANF 1:59–65
Dec. 9, 2019 Monday Ignatius of Antioch Epistle to the Trallians ANF 1:66–72
Dec. 10, 2019 Tuesday Ignatius of Antioch Epistle to the Romans ANF 1:73–78
Dec. 11, 2019 Wednesday Ignatius of Antioch Epistle to the Philadelphians ANF 1:79–85
Dec. 12, 2019 Thursday Ignatius of Antioch Epistle to the Smyrneans ANF 1:86–92
Dec. 13, 2019 Friday Ignatius of Antioch Epistle to Polycarp; Syriac versions of ANF 1:93–104
Ignatius’s epistles
Dec. 14, 2019 Saturday Pseudo-Ignatius Epistle to the Tarsians; Epistle to the ANF 1:107–112
Antiochians
Dec. 15, 2019 Sunday Third Sunday of Advent Pseudo-Ignatius Epistle to Hero; Epistle to the ANF 1:113–119
Philippians
Dec. 16, 2019 Monday Pseudo-Ignatius Epistle of Maria to Ignatius; Epistle to ANF 1:120–126
Maria; 1 Epistle to John; 2 Epistle to John; Epistle to Mary
Dec. 17, 2019 Tuesday Martyrdom of Ignatius ANF 1:129–131
Dec. 18, 2019 Wednesday Epistle of Barnabas, ch. 1–9 ANF 1:137–143
Dec. 19, 2019 Thursday Epistle of Barnabas, ch. 10–21 ANF 1:143–149
Dec. 20, 2019 Friday Papias Fragments ANF 1:153–155
Dec. 21, 2019 Saturday Justin Martyr 1 Apology ch. 1–20 ANF 1:163–170
Dec. 22, 2019 Sunday Fourth Sunday of Advent Justin Martyr 1 Apology ch. 21–41 ANF 1:170–176
Dec. 23, 2019 Monday Justin Martyr 1 Apology ch. 42–61 ANF 1:176–183
Dec. 24, 2019 Tuesday Christmas Eve Justin Martyr 1 Apology ch. 62-end ANF 1:183–187
Dec. 25, 2019 Wednesday Christmas Day Justin Martyr 2 Apology ANF 1:188–193
Dec. 26, 2019 Thursday St Stephen’s Day Justin Martyr Dialogue with Trypho ch. 1–12 ANF 1:194–200
Dec. 27, 2019 Friday Justin Martyr Dialogue with Trypho ch. 13–26 ANF 1:200–207
Dec. 28, 2019 Saturday Justin Martyr Dialogue with Trypho ch. 27–39 ANF 1:207–214
Dec. 29, 2019 Sunday First Sunday after Christmas Justin Martyr Dialogue with Trypho ch. 40–52 ANF 1:214–221
Dec. 30, 2019 Monday Justin Martyr Dialogue with Trypho ch. 53–62 ANF 1:221–228
Dec. 31, 2019 Tuesday Justin Martyr Dialogue with Trypho ch. 63–73 ANF 1:228–235

2 Comments

  1. Hi Matthew!

    Great to see this great site re-energised! Can we have a Year 7 calendar. After 6 assiduous years following the programme, I fizzled out without it and would like to be able to say that I have read the entirely of the Pre-and Post Nicene Fathers.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2020 Read the Fathers

Theme by Anders NorenUp ↑